Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
The Sound of Finnish Angels: Musical Signification in Five Instrumental Compositions by Einojuhani Rautavaara
Foyalty 136

The Sound of Finnish Angels: Musical Signification in Five Instrumental Compositions by Einojuhani Rautavaara (Paperback)

To Order. Estimated despatch in 1-3 weeks.
Email me when back in stock


In music of the past, angels have generally been examined either in the context of musica coelestis or as actors in great vocal-instrumental scores. Instrumental compositions referring to angels were rare, limited mainly to some works by Tartini, Berg, Hindemith, Crumb, and Messiaen. The series of instrumental works with titles referring to angels created by the Finnish composer Einojuhani Rautavaara (b. 1928) therefore seems unique.

Wojciech Stepien's interdisciplinary study provides an in-depth analysis and cultural contextualization of five of Rautavaara's instrumental works: the orchestral overture Angels and Visitations (1978), the Double Bass Concerto Angel of Dusk (1980), Playgrounds for Angels for brass ensemble (1981), the Seventh Symphony Angel of Light (1994), and the movement Archangel Michael Fighting against Antichrist from the piano suite Icons (1955) and its later orchestral elaboration in Before the Icons (2006).

Stepien focuses on three central questions: On what means can a beholder rely to ascertain an angelic presence in an instrumental context? What markers does Rautavaara employ for his intended representation of angels? And what personal and perhaps idiosyncratic concept of "the angel" informs their musical incarnation in Rautavaara's works?

Stepien's book is not only the first comprehensive study of the topic of "angels" in music but also the first to explore Rautavaara's mystical aesthetics and philosophy.

Music & DanceMusic BooksMusic & DanceSheet Music Publisher: Pendragon Press Publication Date: 03/09/2011 ISBN-13: 9781576471715  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: To Order. Estimated despatch in 1-3 weeks.  

More books by Wojciech Stepien

Leave Review


Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Reggae Stories: Jamaican Musical...
Donna P. Hope
The Hopefuls: Chasing a Rock 'n' Roll...
Paul V. Allen
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close