Dirty Work: Essential Jobs and the Hidden Toll of Inequality - Eyal Press; | Foyles Bookstore
Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Dirty Work: Essential Jobs and the Hidden Toll of Inequality
Foyalty 60

Dirty Work: Essential Jobs and the Hidden Toll of Inequality (Hardback)

£20.00
UK delivery within 5 days

Synopsis

A compelling investigation into the phenomenon of dirty work - labour that society considers essential, but morally compromised. A New Statesman Book of the Year



'This book will prompt a public reckoning with inequality in work' Michael J. Sandel



'A scathing and thoughtful book about labor and principles' Rebecca Solnit



'A writer in the tradition of George Orwell and Martha Gellhorn' Corey Robin



'Confronts a series of deep and vexing moral questions... Penetrating, astutely observed, beautifully written' Patrick Radden Keefe



Guards who patrol the wards of America's most violent and abusive prisons. Undocumented immigrants who man the 'kill floors' of industrial slaughterhouses. Roustabouts who drill for oil on offshore rigs. And drone operators who kill people from thousands of miles away.



These are the essential workers we prefer not to think about. Their morally dubious, often physically violent and dangerous activity sustains modern society yet is concealed from our gaze. It is work that falls disproportionately in deprived areas, on immigrants and people of colour, and entails a less familiar set of occupational hazards - stigma, shame and moral injury.



Eyal Press reveals fundamental truths about the morality of work and the hidden costs of inequality. Striking, sophisticated and nuanced, Dirty Work will change the way you think about society.

Philosophy, Psychology & Social SciencesSocial issues & processesPoverty & unemploymentPhilosophy, Psychology & Social SciencesSocial issues & processesSocial discriminationPhilosophy, Psychology & Social SciencesSociologySociology: work & labour Publisher: Head of Zeus Publication Date: 20/01/2022 ISBN-13: 9781801107211  Details: Type: Hardback Format: Books
Availability: UK delivery within 5 days Add to Basket

Eyal Press is an author and journalist based in New York. His writing has appeared in the New Yorker, the New York Times, the London Review of Books and the Nation, and his previous books include Beautiful Souls and Absolute Convictions. Press is a recipient of the James Aronson Award for Social Justice Journalism, an Andrew Carnegie fellowship, and a Cullman Centre fellowship at the New York Public Library.

More books by Eyal Press

Leave Review

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £25 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.99 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.99 £0.00 2-3 Days

Click & Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop

 

Free Free Click and Collect and Delivery to Store is available for all our shops. Collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.
Please wait for order arrival confirmation email before making a journey to collect.
UK Courier* £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe Airmail** £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail*** £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

* For courier service please contact the Charing Cross Road store

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

*** We are currently unable to delivery to the following countries - Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ghana, Iraq, Lebanon, Macao, Pakistan, Puerto Rico, Saint Barthelemy, Turkey, Uzbekistan, Virgin Island US

Given the unfolding situation across Ukraine, with regret we have now suspended orders placed from, or to be delivered to, both Russia and Ukraine. Thank you for your patience and understanding. 

For goods delivered outside of the UK, the consignee (ie the person to whom the consignment is sent) will be the declarant and importer into the country for which the consignment is destined. The consignee will be responsible for both customs clearance and payment of customs duties and local taxes where required.

Customs Charges - if you are ordering goods for delivery outside of the UK, please note that your consignment may be subject to VAT (Value Added Tax), other taxes, customs duties and/or fees levied by the destination country. Any such charges levied in relation to customs clearance must be borne by you. It is accepted by you that Foyles has no control over additional charges in relation to customs clearance. Foyles recommend that you check with your local customs officials or post office for more information regarding importation taxes/duties that may be applicable to your online order.

Delivery Help & FAQs

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

The Prince Rupert Hotel for the...
(Paperback)
Christina Lamb
 
 
£9.99
 
One Kensington: Tales from the...
(Paperback)
Emma Dent Coad
 
 
£12.99
 
Undercurrent: A Cornish memoir of...
(Hardback)
Natasha Carthew
 
 
£16.99
 
The Begging Question: Sweden's Social...
(Hardback)
Erik Hansson; Don Mitchell
 
 
£85.00
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd