Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Men, Women, and Aggression
Foyalty 24

Men, Women, and Aggression (Paperback)

£7.99
Not currently available to order online.
Email me when back in stock

Synopsis

Why are men more aggressive than women? To find out, psychologist and criminologist Anne Campbell listened to the voices of ordinary men and women, as well as people for whom aggression is a central fact of life--robbers and gang members. The answer, she argues, lies not only in biology or in child rearing but in how men and women form opinions about their own aggression. Women believe their aggression results from a loss of self-control, while men see their behavior as a means of gaining control over others. Daughters are deeply ashamed when they get angry, but sons learn to associate aggression with integrity, courage, and triumph. Campbell shows how men's and women's different views of anger and restraint profoundly affect their actions--from rage in marriage to violence in the streets--and what this means for us all. The misreading of the meaning of aggression drives a wedge between the sexes, affecting everything from their ability to communicate with each other to the way that traditionally male-dominated spheres such as law or medicine pathologize and punish women's aggression.

The book draws together two research areas that have had little dialogue with one another--aggression and gender differences--to present for the first time a theory of their interrelationship. The book also reveals the links between criminal violence and psychological processes common to all of us. A major contribution in the tradition of You Just Don't Understand and In a Different Voice, this book offers a new understanding of a vital issue.

Health & WellbeingHealth & PsychologyPopular psychologyLGBT & Gender StudiesGender studiesPhilosophy, Psychology & Social SciencesSocial groups Publisher: INGRAM PUBLISHER SERVICES US Publication Date: 19/08/1994 ISBN-13: 9780465044504  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Not currently available to order online.  

Anne Campbell is senior lecturer in the Department of Psychology at the University of Durham, England, and is the author of The Girls in the Gang (1984) and Girl Delinquents (1981). Formerly an associate professor in the School of Criminal Justice at Rutgers University, she has spent nearly twenty years investigating aggression and violent behavior.

More books by Anne Campbell

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.
 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £25 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.99 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.99 £0.00 1-2 Days

Click & Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop

Click here for further information on Click & Collect during lockdown

Free Free From 2 hours - Individual item delivery times given at checkout
UK Courier* £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe**Airmail £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

* For courier service please contact the Charing Cross Road store

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Click and Collect is available for all our shops; collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.

Delivery Help & FAQs
 

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Empathy for the Devil: Make your...
(Paperback)
Jerry Hyde
 
 
£8.99
 
Chicken Soup for the Soul: Your...
(Paperback)
Amy Newmark
 
 
£10.99
 
Gallic Cooking-Pot, The: Why can't ...
(Paperback)
Marie-Jose Astre-Demoulin
 
 
£8.99
 
You Are What You Click: Transform ...
(Hardback)
Brian A. Primack
 
 
£21.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close