Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Archaic: The Past in the Present
Foyalty 103

The Archaic: The Past in the Present (Paperback)

£33.99
Currently unavailable to order online.
Email me when back in stock

Synopsis

The Archaic takes as its major reference points C.G. Jung's classic essay, 'Archaic Man' (1930), and Ernesto Grassi's paper on 'Archaic Theories of History' (1990). Moving beyond the confines of a Jungian framework to include other methodological approaches, this book explores the concept of the archaic.











Defined as meaning 'old-fashioned', 'primitive', 'antiquated', the archaic is, in fact, much more than something very, very old: it is timeless, inasmuch as it is before time itself. Arche, Urgrund, Ungrund, 'primordial darkness', 'eternal nothing' are names for something essentially nameless, yet whose presence we nevertheless intuit.











This book focuses on the reception of myth in the tradition of German Idealism or Romanticism (Creuzer, Schelling, Nietzsche), which not only looked back to earlier thinkers (such as Jacob Boehme) but also laid down roots for developments in twentieth-century thought (Ludwig Klages, Martin Heidegger). The Archaic also includes:























studies of the Germanic dimension of the archaic (Charles Bambach, Alan Cardew)

a discussion of the mytho-phenomenological approach to the archaic (Robert Josef Kozljanic)

a series of articles on Jung's understanding of the archaic (Paul Bishop, Susan Rowland, Robert Segal).

















This book will be of interest to psychoanalysts, anthropologists and phenomenologists, as well as students of psychology, cultural studies, religious studies, and philosophy, as it seeks to rehabilitate a concept of demonstrable and urgent relevance for our time.

Philosophy, Psychology & Social SciencesCultural StudiesPhilosophy, Psychology & Social SciencesPsychologyPsychological theory & schools of thoughtPsychoanalytical theory or Freudian psychologyReligion & BeliefsReligion: generalPhilosophy of religion Publisher: Taylor & Francis Ltd Publication Date: 28/09/2011 ISBN-13: 9780415547567  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Currently unavailable to order online.  

Paul Bishop is Professor of German at the University of Glasgow. His previous publications include Analytical Psychology and German Classical Aesthetics, 2 vols (Routledge, 2007-2008) and Jung's "Answer to Job": A Commentary (Routledge, 2002).

More books by Paul Bishop

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Psychoanalysis and Contemporary...
(Paperback)
Steven Seidman; Alan Frank
 
 
£29.99
 
Doing the Business of Group Relations...
(Paperback)
Eliat Aram; Coreen Archer; Rachel...
 
 
£29.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close