Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Your Shopping Basket
A Year of Books
Account Services

Women's Prize for Fiction


Image result for women's prize for fiction 2018 logoThe Women's Prize for Fiction was originally launched in 1995 as the Orange Prize for Fiction by a group of publishers, booksellers, journalists and agents, who felt that some of the biggest literary prizes often appeared to overlook wonderful writing by women. Since then, the Prize has established itself as a highlight of the literary calendar, with the longlists, shortlists and winning books eagerly anticipated by male and female readers alike. The prize is awarded to the woman who, in the opinion of the judges (all female), has written the best, eligible full-length novel in English.

The 2017 winner was Naomi Alderman  for The Power, which is also the Foyles Fiction Book of the Year.

The 2018 judges were announced on 4th December 2017. The chair of next year's prize is Sarah Sands, Editor of the Today Programme. Joining her on the panel are: BBC journalist Anita Anand; writer, comedian and actor, Katy Brand; journalist, author and co-founder of the Women’s Equality Party Catherine Mayer; and actress Imogen Stubbs.

The longlist was announced on 8th March. “Commenting on the list, Sarah Sands, Chair of Judges said: “What is striking about the list, apart from the wealth of talent, is that women writers refuse to be pigeon-holed. We have searing social realism, adventure, comedy, poetic truths, ingenious plots and unforgettable characters. Women of the world are a literary force to be reckoned with.”

The shortlist  was announced on 23rd April and the winner will be announced  on 6th June.

 

2018 Shortlist

The Idiot
(Paperback)
Elif Batuman
 
Selin, a tall, highly strung Turkish-American from New Jersey turns up at Harvard and finds herself dangerously overwhelmed by the challenges and possibilities of adulthood. She studies linguistics and literature...
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 
The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock
(Hardback)
Imogen Hermes Gowar
One September evening in 1785, the merchant Jonah Hancock hears urgent knocking on his front door. One of his captains is waiting eagerly on the step. He has sold Jonah's...
Delivery:
 
£14.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£14.99
 
Sight
(Hardback)
Jessie Greengrass
 
The extraordinary first novel from the author of the prize-winning An Account of the Decline of the Great Auk, According to One Who Saw It
Delivery:
 
£14.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£14.99
 
When I Hit You
(Paperback)
Meena Kandasamy
 
SHORTLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2018 LONGLISTED FOR THE DYLAN THOMAS PRIZE 2018 SHORTLISTED FOR THE JHALAK PRIZE 2018 'EXPLOSIVE' - GUARDIAN
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 
Home Fire
(Paperback)
Kamila Shamsie
 
How can love survive betrayal? For as long as they can remember, siblings Isma, Aneeka and Parvaiz have had nothing but each other. But darker, stronger forces will divide Parvaiz...
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 
Sing, Unburied, Sing
(Paperback)
Jesmyn Ward
 
LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2018 An intimate portrait of a family and an epic tale of hope and struggle, Sing, Unburied, Sing examines the ugly truths at...
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 

2018 Longlist

The Ministry of Utmost Happiness
(Hardback)
Arundhati Roy
 
A monumental new novel from the Booker Prize-winning author of The God of Small Things, to be published on the 20th anniversary of that landmark book 'How to tell...
Delivery:
 
£18.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£18.99
 
The Idiot
(Hardback)
Elif Batuman
 
Selin, a tall, highly strung Turkish-American from New Jersey turns up at Harvard and finds herself dangerously overwhelmed by the challenges and possibilities of adulthood. She studies linguistics and literature...
Delivery:
 
£16.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£16.99
 

Stores - out of stock

H(A)PPY
(Hardback)
Nicola Barker
 
Imagine a perfect world where everything is known, where everything is open, where there can be no doubt, no hatred, no poverty, no greed. Imagine a System which both nurtures...
Delivery:
 
£20.00
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£20.00
 
Manhattan Beach
(Hardback)
Jennifer Egan
 
The long-awaited novel from the bestselling author of Pulitzer Prize-winning A Visit From the Goon Squad
Delivery:
 
£16.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£16.99
 
Home Fire
(Paperback)
Kamila Shamsie
 
How can love survive betrayal? For as long as they can remember, siblings Isma, Aneeka and Parvaiz have had nothing but each other. But darker, stronger forces will divide Parvaiz...
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 
Sing, Unburied, Sing
(Paperback)
Jesmyn Ward
 
LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2018 An intimate portrait of a family and an epic tale of hope and struggle, Sing, Unburied, Sing examines the ugly truths at...
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 
Elmet
(Paperback)
Fiona Mozley
 
An atmospheric and thrilling debut set in Yorkshire - perfect for fans of The Loney and The Essex Serpent
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 
Three Things About Elsie
(Hardback)
Joanna Cannon
 
There are three things you should know about Elsie.The first thing is that she's my best friend.The second is that she always knows what to say to make me feel...
Delivery:
 
£14.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£14.99
 

Stores - out of stock

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
(Paperback)
Gail Honeyman
The Sunday Times bestseller ...
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 
See What I Have Done
(Paperback)
Sarah Schmidt
 
'Eeerie and compelling' Paula Hawkins - SEE WHAT I HAVE DONE is a haunting retelling of the infamous Lizzie Borden murders from a dazzling debut novelist.
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 
The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock
(Hardback)
Imogen Hermes Gowar
One September evening in 1785, the merchant Jonah Hancock hears urgent knocking on his front door. One of his captains is waiting eagerly on the step. He has sold Jonah's...
Delivery:
 
£14.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£14.99
 
A Boy in Winter
(Paperback)
Rachel Seiffert
 
From the author of The Dark Room, an extraordinary novel: `A spellbinding evocation of fear and threat tinged with the possibility of hope and change' - Philippe Sands
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 
Sight
(Hardback)
Jessie Greengrass
 
The extraordinary first novel from the author of the prize-winning An Account of the Decline of the Great Auk, According to One Who Saw It
Delivery:
 
£14.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£14.99
 
The Trick to Time
(Hardback)
Kit de Waal
 
A heart-wrenching love story from the internationally bestselling author of My Name Is Leon Mona is a young Irish girl in the big city, with the thrill of a new job...
Delivery:
 
£12.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£12.99
 
When I Hit You
(Paperback)
Meena Kandasamy
 
SHORTLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2018 LONGLISTED FOR THE DYLAN THOMAS PRIZE 2018 SHORTLISTED FOR THE JHALAK PRIZE 2018 'EXPLOSIVE' - GUARDIAN
Delivery:
 
£8.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£8.99
 
Miss Burma
(Hardback)
Charmaine Craig
 
Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2018 Longlisted for the National Book Award for Fiction Set against the vibrant backdrop of Burma from the 1940s to the 1960s, Miss Burma is...
Delivery:
 
£14.99
 
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 11am tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

 
£14.99
 

Previous winners

2017 The Power by Naomi Alderman

2016 The Glorious Heresies by Lisa McInerney

2015 How to be Both by Ali Smith

2014 A Girl is a Half-Formed Thing by Eimear McBride

2013 May We Be Forgiven by AM Homes

2012 The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

2011 The Tiger's Wife by Téa Obreht

2010 The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver

2009 Home by Marilynne Robinson

2008 The Road Home by Rose Tremain

2007 Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

2006 On Beauty by Zadie Smith

2005 We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver

2004 Small Island by Andrea Levy

2003 Property by Valerie Martin

2002 Bel Canto by Ann Patchett

2001 The Idea of Perfection by Kate Grenville

2000 When I Lived in Modern Times by Linda Grant

1999 A Crime in the Neighborhood by Suzanne Berne

1998 Larry's Party by Carol Shields

1997 Fugitive Pieces by Anne Michaels

1996 A Spell of Winter by Helen Dunmore

 

Winners of the Orange Prize for New Writers

2010 The Boy Next Door by Irene Sabatini

2009 An Equal Stillness by Francesca Kay

2008 Inglorious by Joanna Kavenna

2007 The Lizard Cage by Karen Connelly

2006 Disobedience by Naomi Alderman

2005 26a by Diana Evans

© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close