Bridges to Burn

Bridges to Burn: An unputdownable Scottish police procedural

Crime & Thrillers
Paperback Published on: 07/03/2024
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Synopsis

How can DI Clare Mackay uncover the facts if nothing is what it seems?

DI Clare Mackay is called to Albany High, where the body of a girl has been found. A suspected suicide – yet Sophie Bakewell was by all accounts a cheerful, talented student. Could she really have been hiding a darker side?

It’s not the only disturbing case to land on Clare’s desk. Across town, an elderly man is in danger. Yet before the police can determine the facts, everything changes and they are presented with two suspicious deaths to investigate.

As Clare and her team face the possibility that anything they believe to be true about the deaths is wrong, they might find that a killer can lurk behind the most innocent of faces…

An unputdownable crime thriller from the queen of Tartan Noir, perfect for fans of Ann Cleeves, Lin Anderson and JD Kirk.

Praise for Bridges to Burn‘Engrossing and immersive... had me hooked from the first page and I devoured it in one sitting’ Angela Marsons, author of the Detective Kim Stone series

‘Bridges to Burn is a treat for anyone who loves gripping, well plotted police procedurals with compelling character arcs... full of twists’ Rachel McLean, author of the Dorset Crime series

‘Intriguingly plotted with a plethora of teasingly plausible suspects’ Tim Sullivan, author of the DS Cross Thrillers

‘I absolutely loved Bridges to Burn... had me hooked from beginning to end’ Rachel Lynch, author of the DI Kelly Porter series

‘Such a gripping police procedural and a superb cast of characters. I feel like Clare’s team are old friends, and I can’t wait to read more from the Mackay series’ J.M. Hewitt, author of The Crew

‘Marion Todd just gets better and better. This latest installment keeps the reader turning the pages to a breathless finale’ Sheila Bugler, author of Black Valley Farm

‘Pacy, thrilling and full of twists and turns... A genuinely brilliant whodunnit that oozes all the dread, mystery and excitement that we've come to expect from this series’ Jonathan Whitelaw, author of The Bingo Hall Detectives

'Very human characters, superbly timed surprises and a masterfully plotted mystery... A page-turning success' B P Walter, author of Notes on a Murder

‘Sparkling prose and a nail-biting plot’ Sarah Ward, author of The Birthday Girl

‘Good storyline and engaging… hard to put down’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader review

‘This is the first book I have read by this author, and it certainly will not be the last. The story was well-crafted, gripping and quite brilliant. A brilliant police procedural’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader review

‘There are plenty of twists and red herrings to keep us on our toes. I love Marion's style of writing. The storyline is gripping… I think this is the best book in the series, so far’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader review

‘Love the Claire Mackay novels. Great writing and premise. Amazing characters. Page-turner. Plenty of suspense to keep me guessing’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader review

  • Publisher: Canelo
  • ISBN: 9781804362150
  • Number of pages: 336
  • Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 20 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Bridges to Burn
An excellent read.
I really enjoy this well written series of books, set in St Andrew's featuring Detective Clare MacKay, and I think this is the best so far! it can be read ... READ MORE
Martha Brindley
Bridges to Burn
A very good read
I am a fan of this author and her Clare Mackay series and Bridges to Burn is a very, very good read. I really like the main character and those she works a... READ MORE
Anne Mosedale
Bridges to Burn
Great addition to the series
When detective Clare Mackay is called out to a quite exclusive local school it is to investigate the death of one of the pupils. Sophie, from all accounts ... READ MORE
Maggie Macdonald
Bridges to Burn
Well-written plot with great characters!
DI Clare Mackay and DS Chris West are called out to Albany High School when the body of a female pupil is found in a wooded area adjoining the school groun... READ MORE
Joan Clapham
Bridges to Burn
A fabulous Scottish crime tale
This was my introduction to the DI Clare Mackay series &, although it is the eighth instalment, it reads well as a standalone. You do not have to have read... READ MORE
Deb Day
Bridges to Burn
Also works as a standalone
4.5 stars Another fast-paced addition to the DI Clare Mackay series. I haven't yet read all of them in the series, but believe each one also works well ... READ MORE
Chloe Slim
Bridges to Burn
Another brilliant instalment
This is #8 in the DI Clare Mackay series but can easily be read as a standalone. I love this series and it was great to be back with DI Clare again. ... READ MORE
MandyDB
Bridges to Burn
Police Procedural Series
Detective Claire Mackay #8 DI Clare Mackay is called to Albany High, where the body of a girl has been found. A suspected suicide - yet Sophie Bakewell ... READ MORE
Louise Wilson
Bridges to Burn
An excellent series.
I really enjoy this well written series of books, set in St Andrew's featuring Detective Clare MacKay, and I think this is the best so far! it can be read ... READ MORE
Martha Brindley
Bridges to Burn
A cracking read
4.5 stars DI Clare Mackay #8 Saint Andrews police receive a call concerning a suspicious death at Albany High where a female student has been discove... READ MORE
Celia Short
Bridges to Burn
Best yet in the series
I've been a fan of the DI Clare Mackay books for a while and, I have to say, this is the best yet. The story is very topical - a girl's body is found i... READ MORE
Rachel
Bridges to Burn
Wonderful Read
DI Clare Mackay is back along with her partner DCI Alistair Gibson and Benjy the dog! The story begins with a stag do for DS Chris West. The following day,... READ MORE
Sarah Dougan-Blackburn
Bridges to Burn
The best yet in the series
I've been a fan of the DI Clare Mackay books for a while and, I have to say, this is the best yet. The story is very topical - a girl's body is found i... READ MORE
Rachel
Bridges to Burn
Fabulous read
Clare and DS Chris West get a call from the local school Albany High. Where one of the young students has taken their own life by hanging herself from the ... READ MORE
Michelle De Alwis
Bridges to Burn
Another Great Read From Marion!
Thank you to the publishers for the review copy. Now I have sadly not read all eight of Marion's books but I have loved all the ones I have read. So I rea... READ MORE
Fiona Sharp