Blackwing

Blackwing: The Raven's Mark Book One

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror , Science Fiction & Fantasy
Hardback Published on: 27/07/2017
Not available
This product is currently unavailable
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Bookseller Reviews

View all
Blackwing
A great read!
I have read a lot of fantasy. Too much, some would say. I started - as most people do - with Terry Pratchett. After enjoying the wit and exuberance on offe... READ MORE
Paul Chamberlain at Nottingham
Blackwing
Dark, gritty and utterly enjoyable!
A dark, gritty and engaging fantasy novel which leaves you guessing and wishing for more. Skilfully crafted, there are no huge info drops in this novel but... READ MORE
Penelope Bullock at Lancaster
Blackwing
A Stunning Debut
Blackwing is a dark and gritty new fantasy series set in a unique world full of masterful world building and quality characters. The plot will leave you gu... READ MORE
Laura  at Waterstones Cardiff

Synopsis

When a raven tattoo rips itself from his arm to deliver a desperate message, Galharrow and a mysterious noblewoman must investigate a long dead sorcerer's legacy.

But there is a conspiracy within the citadel: traitors, flesh-eaters and the ghosts of the wastelands seek to destroy them, but if they cannot solve the ancient wizard's paradox, the Deep Kings will walk the earth again, and all will be lost.

The war with the Eastern Empire ended in stalemate some eighty years ago, thanks to Nall's 'Engine', a wizard-crafted weapon so powerful even the Deep Kings feared it.

The strike of the Engine created the Misery - a wasteland full of ghosts and corrupted magic that now forms a No Mans Land along the frontier. But when Galharrow investigates a frontier fortress, he discovers complacency bordering on treason: then the walls are stormed, and the Engine fails to launch.

Galharrow only escapes because of the preternatural magical power of the noblewoman he was supposed to be protecting. Together, they race to the capital to unmask the traitors and restore the republic's defences. Far across the Misery a vast army is on the move, as the Empire prepares to call the republic's bluff.

Blackwing is a gritty epic fantasy for fans of Mark Lawrence, Scott Lynch and Daniel Polansky.

  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
  • ISBN: 9781473222014
  • Number of pages: 384
  • Weight: 622g
  • Dimensions: 240 x 157 x 34 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Blackwing
Dark, gritty fantasy
I love a good fantasy novel, and when I heard an excerpt of Blackwing earlier this I knew I had to read it. I'm pleased to say it absolutely lived up to my... READ MORE
Ailsa F
Blackwing
Fantasy novel, slightly derivative but quite good
A troupe of soldiers of lowlife origin - the Blackwing - fight a group of no-longer-human creatures led by supernatural forces to prevent them leaving th... READ MORE
Minette
Blackwing
A refreshingly, gritty, easy to read fantasy
I bought this at YALC 2017 after the author appeared at their 'New Voices' panel and sold his book to me in a few short, descriptive minutes. It's taken me... READ MORE
Sarah S
Blackwing
A Fantasy for All Fantasy Fans to Read
I’m rarely completely speechless after finishing a book, I normally have a lot to say good or bad, but Blackwing left me utterly gobsmacked. It’s taken me ... READ MORE
BrizzleLass