Fervour

Fervour

Hardback Published on: 22/02/2024
£16.99
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
Fervour
A mysterious dive into family trauma and Jewish folklore
Thank you to the publisher for a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review. Inspired by Jewish folklore, this horror-style story digs deep on ge... READ MORE
Sarah Packer

Synopsis

'Intriguing, propulsive and profoundly disturbing, this is a fearless look into the dark heart of family politics from a naturally gifted storyteller' JONATHAN COE'Stylish, puzzling, mystical . . . Fervour marks the arrival of an intriguing and intelligent new voice' FINANCIAL TIMES'A suspenseful debut novel that propels the reader deep into the heart of an idiosyncratic family' OBSERVER'A rich and dark stew that mixes ingredients from the Bible and the headlines, with a biting send-up of the vampiric nature of writing itself' DAILY MAIL'Remarkable . . . a work of real poignancy' MAIL ON SUNDAY 'Extraordinary. . . A tremendous debut from a strikingly talented new writer' KIRKUS (starred review)'Gripping and powerful . . . Fans of Isaac Bashevis Singer and Stephen King alike will thrill to this superb modern folk tale' PUBLISHERS WEEKLY (starred review)'In this debut that explores identity, faith, and folklore . . . the dynamics are acutely observed, the characters vividly realised, and the escalating drama has the hypnotic, chilling effect of a horror film' BOOKSELLER (Editor's Choice)THE ROSENTHALS ARE NOT LIKE OTHER FAMILIES Hannah and Eric are devout Jews living in North London with their three children and Eric's father Yosef, a Holocaust survivor. Both intellectually gifted and deeply unconventional, the Rosenthals believe in the literal truth of the Old Testament and in the presence of God (and evil) in daily life.As Hannah prepares to publish a sensationalist account of Yosef's years in war-torn Europe - unearthing a terrible secret from his time in the camps- Elsie, her perfect daughter, starts to come undone. And then, in the wake of Yosef's death, she disappears. When she returns, just as mysteriously as she left, she is altered in disturbing ways.Witnessing the complete transformation of her daughter, Hannah begins to suspect that Elsie has delved too deep into the labyrinths of Jewish mysticism and got lost among shadows. But for Elsie's brother Tovyah, a brilliant but reclusive student at Oxford, the truth is much simpler: his sister is the product of a dysfunctional family, obsessed with empty rituals and unbridled ambition.But who is right? And how can they stop the darkness from engulfing Elsie forever?

  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
  • ISBN: 9781399724616
  • Number of pages: 320
  • Weight: 520g
  • Dimensions: 238 x 162 x 32 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Fervour
The burning horror of the past
A fiery, original novel that brings us in to the traumas of a London Jewish family, then burns them down around us. Lloyd is an excellent storyteller, conn... READ MORE
Ben Dalton
Fervour
Yosef survived the war but can his family survive his passing?
Tovyah is the rebel in the family as he no longer believes in the Jewish faith. His grandfather survived the war but at what price and after his death the ... READ MORE
Julie Friar
Fervour
Dark literary fiction
The Rosenthal family are a close group who live in North London. Yosef is the grandfather who survived the Nazi death camps. Eric and Hannah are the parent... READ MORE
Lynda Checkley