Green Dot

Green Dot

Hardback Published on: 01/02/2024
RRP £18.99
£16.99
Save £2.00 (11%)
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
Green Dot
Funny yet moving read
This book was not what I thought it would be, it was so much better! It takes you through the emotions of 24 year old Hera who doesn’t have the best outloo... READ MORE
Paula Campbell
Green Dot
A brilliant debut from Madeleine Gray!
I gobbled this down in a couple of days! An unhinged, hot mess, sharp witty page-turner with insufferable irritating characters. They pull you in and make ... READ MORE
Laionie Sarson
Green Dot
Witty and emotional
Green Dot is such a witty novel that grips you from the very beginning, Hera is a character you just can’t help but support despite all of her terrible dec... READ MORE
Amoy Daley, Waterstones Leamington Spa
Green Dot
An amazing debut
As soon as I read the description of this book I knew I needed to read it, even though the story is something I’ve read a few times before the voice of Her... READ MORE
tia dawson
Green Dot
One of the sharpest novels you’ll read!
I was worried that this book might be one of those super hyped ones which I then found disappointing, but turns out I absolutely LOVED it and gave it a big... READ MORE
Tilly Fitzgerald
Green Dot
Entertaining, funny and a stunning debut!
Green Dot is a wonderfully written novel that follows Hera, a young woman in her twenties who gets into a passionate relationship with Arthur, her married ... READ MORE
Laura at Blackpool
Green Dot
Coming-of-age in your mid twenties…
Great for fans of Dolly Alderton, Sally Rooney and Fleabag. A beautiful and heartbreaking novel that follows Hera as she embarks on an affair with an older... READ MORE
Ciara Virk
Green Dot
Hilarious and Heartbreaking
An incredible debut. This book follows Hera, a loveable main character who definitely makes some questionable decisions, as she falls head first into a rel... READ MORE
Chloe Craig at Waterstones Durham

Synopsis

Hera is in her mid-twenties, which seems young to everyone except people in their mid-twenties. Since leaving school, she has been trying to kick and scream into existence a life she cares about, but with little success so far. Until she meets Arthur. He works with her, he is older than her, he is also married. But in her soulless office - the large cold room she feels destined to spend her life in - he is a source of much-needed sustenance. And though Hera has previously dated women, she soon falls headlong into a workplace romance that will quickly consume her life. Laugh-out-loud funny, deeply moving and whip smart, Green Dot is a story about the terrible allure of wanting something that promises nothing and the winding, torturous, often hilarious journey we take in deciding who we are and who we want to be.

  • Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
  • ISBN: 9781399612760
  • Number of pages: 384
  • Weight: 495g
  • Dimensions: 220 x 144 x 36 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Green Dot
A devastatingly good debut novel filled with guts, tenderness and wit
I adored "Green Dot" by Madeleine Gray and from the opening pages I was trotting along at Hera's side, hanging on her every word. Watching her fall headlon... READ MORE
Sarah Lynwode, Regional Events Coordinator
Green Dot
Gray's writing and handling of the topic is masterful.
Considering this book is about a topic I generally find wildly mishandled and glamorized by today's fiction, I found this book to be fantastically well wri... READ MORE
Bree M (@bookshopbree)
Green Dot
Good Debut
Thank you to the publishers for the review copy, I'd put off reading it for a little while because I wasn't sure it was going to be for me... But I have t... READ MORE
Fiona Sharp
Green Dot
Great Read
Since Hera is 24 I wouldn't consider this a coming of age story, but in a way it kind of feels like one. Hera seems very immature and ends up falling for a... READ MORE
Renee_Reads