Kindred

Kindred

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror , Science Fiction & Fantasy
Paperback Published on: 03/05/2018
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
Kindred
A perfect science fiction novel
This is a classic sci fi novel, and I'm disappointed in myself that I haven't read it until now. Thought-provoking, horrific, but at times tender and hopef... READ MORE
Helen at Scarborough
Kindred
Outlander meets Django Unchained!
This book is amazing. I do have to say I received this book as a proof read for free in order to review it. But I honestly think that has been one of the b... READ MORE
Iara at Basingstoke
Kindred
A masterpiece
Octavia Butler is among the greats of black American writers alongside Toni Morrison, Maya Angelou and Alice Walker, and in this gorgeous new paperback edi... READ MORE
Nick at Gower Street
Kindred
Kindred Review
In 1976, Dana and her husband Kevin have just moved in together. In the midst of unpacking, Dana suddenly vanishes, before finding herself somewhere unreco... READ MORE
Ollie, Senior Bookseller

Synopsis

Octavia E. Butler's 1979 masterpiece and ground-breaking exploration of power and responsibility, the extraordinary story of two people bound by blood, separated by so much more than time. Perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale, The Power and Yaa Gyasi's Homegoing. With an original foreword by Ayobami Adebayo.

'[Her] evocative, often troubling, novels explore far-reaching issues of race, sex, power and, ultimately, what it means to be human' - New York Times

In 1976, Dana dreams of being a writer. In 1815, she is assumed a slave.

When Dana first meets Rufus on a Maryland plantation, he's drowning. She saves his life - and it will happen again and again.

Neither of them understands his power to summon her whenever his life is threatened, nor the significance of the ties that bind them.

And each time Dana saves him, the more aware she is that her own life might be over before it's even begun.

Octavia E. Butler's ground-breaking masterpiece is the extraordinary story of two people bound by blood, separated by so much more than time.

  • Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
  • ISBN: 9781472258229
  • Number of pages: 320
  • Weight: 220g
  • Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 24 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Kindred
Thought provoking
Kindred is part historical fiction/part science fiction. Normally I am not keen on time travelling stories but this one seemed to work. This story follows ... READ MORE
Helena
Kindred
Thought provoking and utterly terrifying
I'm so shocked I have never heard of this book. I read this in two days unable to put it down, obsessed with the main characters predicament. Very scary to... READ MORE
Georgia Clarke
Kindred
so worth it!
After reading the graphic novel I was desperate to read the full story. This was my first Octavia Butler and it will not be my last. She covers some import... READ MORE
Eloise Bell
Kindred
Stunning and powerful
This book was just stunning! Ashamedly, this is my first foray into the world of Octavia Butler and I was just blown away by the story she tells here. The ... READ MORE
Laura Newsholme
Kindred
A haunting book that effortlessly turns back the clock to show us the Ghosts of American's past.
A haunting book that effortlessly turns back the clock to show us the Ghosts of American's past. Classed as a science fiction novel don't let the label pu... READ MORE
emma inskip
Kindred
Must read
I'd seen Octavia E Butler on a few recommended reading lists and finally got round to reading one of her novels. I wish I had read her sooner! Kindred is a... READ MORE
Eleanor Massey
Kindred
Heart-wrenching, thought-provoking, fantastic!
In 1976, Dana is a 26 year old black American trying to make it as a writer, until one day she is summoned back in time to save a dying white boy, Rufus. ... READ MORE
Katie Walters