Mister Memory

Mister Memory

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Crime, Thrillers & True Crime, Crime & Thrillers
Hardback Published on: 14/07/2016
£17.99
We can order this from the publisher
UK delivery within 4-5 weeks
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Bookseller Reviews

View all
Mister Memory
Mystery about memory and fate.....
This wonderfully intriguing mystery story starts in Paris at the end of the 19th century, Marcel a man with a perfect memory murders his wife. Marcel's do... READ MORE
Emine at Bromley
Mister Memory
Captivating
This story brings into question how you would feel if you were guilty of something that you have no recollection of. We've all had those journey's when we ... READ MORE
KatieB @ Tenterden

Synopsis

In Paris, at the end of the nineteenth century, a man with a perfect memory murders his wife. But that is only the start of the story... A dazzling literary mystery from prizewinning author Marcus Sedgwick. Paris, 1899. Marcel Després is arrested for the murder of his wife and transferred to the famous Salpêtrière asylum. And there the story might have stopped. But the doctor assigned to his care soon realises this is no ordinary patient: Marcel Després, Mister Memory, is a man who cannot forget. And the policeman assigned to his case soon realises that something else is at stake: for why else would the criminal have been hurried off to hospital, and why are his superiors so keen for the whole affair to be closed? This crime involves something bigger and stranger than a lovers' fight - something with links to the highest and lowest establishments in France. The policeman and the doctor between them must unravel the mystery... but the answers lie inside Marcel's head. And how can he tell what is significant when he remembers every detail of every moment of his entire life? For fans of Scarlett Thomas, Carlos Ruiz Zafon and Patrick Suskind, this is a captivating literary mystery about memory, history and fate.

  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
  • ISBN: 9781444751987
  • Number of pages: 336
  • Weight: 574g
  • Dimensions: 239 x 161 x 28 mm

Customer Reviews