Not Safe For Work

Not Safe For Work

Modern & Contemporary Fiction
Paperback Published on: 22/06/2023
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Synopsis

The compulsively readable novel about a young woman trying to succeed in Hollywood without selling her soul - perfect for fans of Sweetbitter, My Dark Vanessa and Exciting Times 'Deliciously sharp, ridiculously funny, and surprisingly heartfelt' COCO MELLORS 'A blistering look at the hidden side of Hollywood' GLAMOUR 'Frank, funny and unputdownable' CLAIRE MESSUD 'Glittering. A funny, spiky, compulsive story about toxic workplaces' EVENING STANDARD 'A frank account of leaning in and its inherent filthiness' RAVEN LEILANI ________You knew Hollywood would be difficult.So when you land a job in television, you're ready for anything: pulling all-nighters, leaning on your powerful mother's contacts, keeping your boss happy whatever - and whoever - the cost.You thrive under pressure, and are determined to excel. But there's a dark side to the industry that's about to rear its head. And soon, you must decide your place in it:Follower. Troublemaker. People-pleaser. Rulebreaker.If you don't know who you are yet, how can you know where you stand?But no one is supposed to have it all figured out . . . Right? ________'Sharp, fun . . . The writing is fresh and stylish. I loved it'DAILY MAIL'Wholly engrossing and shrewdly observational' ZAKIYA DALILA HARRIS'An intoxicating exploration of male-dominated workplaces' TIME'Ambition bites back . . . So visceral is the narrator's voice that every time I opened the book it felt like sliding into uncomfortable heels. Brave' NEW YORK TIMESLonglisted for the Center for Fiction Prize

  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • ISBN: 9781405950398
  • Number of pages: 320
  • Weight: 220g
  • Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 24 mm

Customer Reviews