Playing Nice

Playing Nice

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Crime, Thrillers & True Crime, Crime & Thrillers
Paperback Published on: 16/02/2021
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Synopsis

Pete Riley answers the door one morning to a parent's worst nightmare. On his doorstep is Miles Lambert, who breaks the devastating news that Pete's two-year-old, Theo, isn't Pete's real son - their babies got mixed up at birth.

The two families - Pete, his partner Maddie, and Miles and his wife Lucy - agree that, rather than swap the boys back, they'll try to find a more flexible way to share their children's lives. But a plan to sue the hospital triggers an investigation that unearths disturbing questions about just what happened the day the babies were switched.

And when Theo is thrown out of nursery for hitting other children, Maddie and Pete have to ask themselves: how far do they want this arrangement to go? What secrets lie hidden behind the Lamberts' smart front door? How much can they trust the real parents of their child - or even each other?

An addictive psychological thriller, perfect for fans of The Silent Patient and Shari Lapena's The Couple Next Door.

  • Publisher: Quercus Publishing
  • ISBN: 9781529400861
  • Number of pages: 432
  • Weight: 300g
  • Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 34 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Playing Nice
Rage inducing story
It’s a day like any other when stay at home dad Pete Riley opens the front door to be confronted with a man claiming to be the father of his son. Miles La... READ MORE
Laura McToal
Playing Nice
Excellent.
I've read all this author's books so far. I loved his first book. The second was also very good. I was a bit disappointed in the third, just because it une... READ MORE
Julie Haigh
Playing Nice
A quality read
Playing Nice is about two families who discover their babies were swapped at birth and each has been raising a child not biologically theirs. To begin with... READ MORE
Barnsey's Books
Playing Nice
Gripping read
Firstly, thank you to Netgalley for giving me the opportunity to read this book prior to publication. This book has been very well researched and well wr... READ MORE
Joan Moir
Playing Nice
Surprising twist
J. P Delaney’s latest offering Playing Nice is another big hit as far as I am concerned. I have read all their books and this one also does not disappoint.... READ MORE
Michellle De Alwis
Playing Nice
A family drama / thriller that races along
Wow! What a premise for a story, Pete and Maddie are a happy couple with a boisterous two year old boy, Theo. Pete is a full time carer for his son and is ... READ MORE
Sharon Adair
Playing Nice
How far would you go to protect those you hold dear?
Pete and Maddie have a two year old son, Theo. Born prematurely, he is now 2, and life seems fairly ordinary. Perhaps he's not very good at sharing, and pe... READ MORE
Louise Barber
Playing Nice
A Brilliant Psychologicall Thriller
Wow what a brilliant psychological thriller .This book kept me gripped from the very beginning .Two babies swapped at birth,the two year old you have loved... READ MORE
Chrissie Mortimer
Playing Nice
Kept me on the edge of my seat!
After the trauma of his premature birth Theo has thrived & although a bit of a handful Pete & Maddie love their son. Pete is his main caregiver & is trying... READ MORE
Maggie Macdonald
Playing Nice
A fantastic read this summer.
I was a little a sceptical when I first requested this book, having been undecided with ‘The Girl Before’ and not getting further that the first few chapte... READ MORE
Kirsty Feltham
Playing Nice
Nature vs nurture
Thank you to the publisher and NetGalley for providing me with a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review. It is currently set to be published i... READ MORE
The Magpie Reader