The Beholders

The Beholders

Hardback Published on: 18/01/2024
RRP £16.99
£14.99
Save £2.00 (12%)
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
The Beholders
Gothic crime
I was expecting a Gothic haunting tale when I started this book. And in the beginning it feels like it is heading that way with dark corners in libraries a... READ MORE
Emily@waterstonestorquay
The Beholders
A gripping thriller
The Beholders opens with a June 1878 newspaper report about trial proceedings at the Old Bailey. A Mrs Clara Gethin, the wife of a widely admired MP, is ac... READ MORE
LORRAINE - ENNISKILLEN
The Beholders
For fans of Jessie Burton and Sarah Waters.
'The Beholders' is a gothic historical debut that is gripping & dark, that will be a jewel to those who are fans of Jessie Burton and Sarah Waters. June 18... READ MORE
Jamie Lee at Trafford Centre

Synopsis

Some houses are haunted by the living. June, 1878. The body of a boy is pulled from the depths of the River Thames, suspected to be the beloved missing child of the widely admired Liberal MP Ralph Gethin. Four months earlier. Harriet is a young maid newly employed at Finton Hall. Fleeing the drudgery of an unwanted engagement in the small village where she grew up, Harriet is entranced by the grand country hall; she is entranced too by her glamorous mistress Clara Gethin, whose unearthly singing voice floats through the house. But Clara, though captivating, is erratic. The master of the house is a much-lauded politician, but he is strangely absent. And some of their beautiful belongings seem to tell terrible stories. Unable to ignore her growing unease, Harriet sets out to discover their secrets. When she uncovers a shocking truth, a chain of events is set in motion that could cost Harriet everything, even her freedom...

  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • ISBN: 9780008558611
  • Number of pages: 336
  • Weight: 540g
  • Dimensions: 240 x 159 x 33 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Beholders
Intrigue and Deceit
Harriet is young maid newly employed at the home of MP Ralph Gethin. She anxious to make a good impression having moved from her previous employ at the req... READ MORE
Alyson Hilbourne
The Beholders
Gripping gothic thriller which offers a little bit more
Harriet's new post as maid in the home of the admired Liberal MP Ralph Gethin offers an opportunity for her to escape her small village and the engagement ... READ MORE
Sally Hughes
The Beholders
An atmospheric Gothic mystery
‘Some houses are haunted by the living’ - cover tagline. My thanks to 4th Estate William Collins for an eARC via NetGalley of ‘The Beholders’ by Hester ... READ MORE
Vivienne O'Regan
The Beholders
MP Ralph Gethin looks respectable but what really happens in his home?
Set in 1878, MP Ralph Gethin seems to be a benevolent man but things are very different in his grand country home. Harriet goes to work there and worries f... READ MORE
Julie Friar
The Beholders
A dark upstairs/downstairs mystery
When starting out, I thought this was going to be a gothic, spooky novel however it turned out to be more of a historical mystery tinged with murder, abuse... READ MORE
T Edwards
The Beholders
A tale of two women - a bit of a Gothic mystery - enjoyable stuff.
Harriet finds herself working for Mrs Gethin at Finton Hall and becomes embroiled in her life as matters turn from bad to worse, resulting in a murder tria... READ MORE
Minette
The Beholders
Rather satisfying Victorian Gothic
Harriet Watkins has gone into service and supported a beloved employer through her last years. Her family expect her to return to the country and marry her... READ MORE
Jo-anne Atkinson
The Beholders
Gothic tale
Set in Victorian England & told mostly through the diary entries of Harriet. She is a maid that went into service because she didn't feel ready to settle d... READ MORE
Maggie Macdonald
The Beholders
Strong story-telling and well-drawn characters in this historical debut
Debut novel time and publishers 4th Estate are using the tagline “Some houses are haunted by the living” to promote this strong historical thriller. Writt... READ MORE
Phil Ramage
The Beholders
Engrossing
I was sent a copy of The Beholders by Hester Musson to read and review by NetGalley. I loved this novel! It has an engrossing story, which is told first ... READ MORE
lesleys