The Ghost Fields

The Ghost Fields: The Dr Ruth Galloway Mysteries 7

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Crime, Thrillers & True Crime, Crime & Thrillers
Paperback Published on: 02/06/2016
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Synopsis

WINNER OF THE 2016 CWA DAGGER IN THE LIBRARY. A bullet-ridden body is unearthed from a buried WW2 plane - but the body isn't from WW2. Dr Ruth Galloway must discover who the victim was, and who put him there, in this atmospheric mystery for fans of Val McDermid and Ann Cleeves. 'An almost gothic plot, involving family feuds and a crumbling stately home . . . one of the most vivid novels in a delightful series' Sunday Times When DCI Harry Nelson calls Ruth Galloway in to investigate a body found inside a buried fighter plane, she quickly realizes that the skeleton couldn't possibly be the pilot. DNA tests identify the man as Fred Blackstock, a local aristocrat who had been reported dead at sea. Events are further complicated by a TV company that wants to make a film about Norfolk's deserted air force bases, the so-called Ghost Fields, which have been partially converted into a pig farm run by one of the younger remaining Blackstocks. Then human bones are found on the farm and, as the greatest storm Norfolk has seen for decades brews in the distance, another Blackstock is attacked. Can the team outrace the rising flood to find the killer?

  • Publisher: Quercus Publishing
  • ISBN: 9781786482174
  • Number of pages: 384
  • Weight: 260g
  • Dimensions: 200 x 153 x 24 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Ghost Fields
Cerebral comfort food
I came to Elly Griffiths late and completly by accident but after several outings for Ruth and Harry I am delighted this engaging series remains vibrant an... READ MORE
David Parsons
The Ghost Fields
A Great Read.
Book 7 in the Ruth Galloway series. Elly Griffiths does it again with a fantastic novel, maintaining her high standards which I have come to love. What a s... READ MORE
Milton of Campsie  Annie