Winter's Orbit

Winter's Orbit

Fiction & Poetry, Modern & Contemporary Fiction, Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror , Science Fiction & Fantasy
Paperback Published on: 04/02/2021
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
No stock available in any shop.

Synopsis

'A chilling account of a dark past wrapped in the warm blanket of a promising future . . . A pleasure to read' Ann Leckie 'Sparks fly' NPR 'A stunning new space opera debut' K. B. Wagers The Iskat Empire rules its vassal planets through a system of treaties - so when Prince Taam, key figure in a political alliance, is killed, a replacement must be found. His widower, Jainan, is rushed into an arranged marriage with the disreputable aristocrat Kiem, in a bid to keep rising hostilities between two worlds under control. But Prince Taam's death may not have been an accident, and when Jainan himself is a suspect, he and Kiem must navigate the perils of the Iskat court, solve a murder, and prevent an interplanetary war . . . ***Winner of an ALA Alex Award*** ***Sunday Times bestseller*** 'Has everything you could ask: impossible choices, divided loyalties, dry wit . . . charming slow-burn romance, and an adventure in space politics' A. K. Larkwood 'High-pitched noises escaped me; I shouted, more than once, 'Now kiss!'...in a world so relentlessly uncertain, there's a powerfully simple pleasure in the experience of a promise kept' The New York Times Book Review 'Dazzling . . . Its characters stayed with me long after I raced through the last chapters' Aliette de Boddard Everina Maxwell's debut is a space opera with high-stakes multi-world politics and irresistibly engaging characters, perfect for fans of Gideon the Ninth and The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet. An LGBTQ romance and Tiktok/Booktok sensation. Find the author on Twitter at @av_stories From the same author: OCEAN'S ECHO

  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • ISBN: 9780356515885
  • Number of pages: 448
  • Weight: 300g
  • Dimensions: 198 x 126 x 28 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Winter's Orbit
5 stars isn’t enough
Winter’s Orbit has been on my radar for a while now and made it to the top of my most anticipated books of the year, due to its fantastic synopsis. It has ... READ MORE
kristina Hart
Winter's Orbit
The concept is brilliant
"Winter's Orbit" is a romantic sci-fi novel with elements of mystery. The concept is brilliant, the writing is flawless, and the characters are constructed... READ MORE
Dawn Lewis
Winter's Orbit
Space love story
I was given an Advanced Reader Copy of this book by NetGalley in return for an honest review. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. At first I was a bit confus... READ MORE
Hannah Wright
Winter's Orbit
An excellent debut!
Considering how tropey the plot is, I was not expecting it to be as good as it was. I am told this story was once on AO3 and in some ways you can really t... READ MORE
Rachel - Newbury
Winter's Orbit
One of my favourite love stories!
Jainan and Kiem are idiots. Unfortunately, Jainan and Kiem are also completely adorable, which is probably why I continued to read through their infuriati... READ MORE
Liv Burrell
Winter's Orbit
Hard time putting this one down
Such a hard book to categorise, it is certainly more than a romance novel with sci-fi elements, but it's not quite a plot driven sci-fi... Either way it i... READ MORE
Colleen Batey
Winter's Orbit
A complicated mlm romance with engaging interstellar politics
Winter’s Orbit can be divided rather neatly into two parts. The first half of the novel is where we get most of the ‘will they/won’t they?’ action, and it’... READ MORE
@jakeisreading
Winter's Orbit
Enjoyable political space opera
This is a very character-centric space opera, with plenty of politics, interesting worldbuilding and a central romance. (I would personally describe it as ... READ MORE
Emma Welsby
Winter's Orbit
Powerful Sci-Fi Romance
'Winter’s Orbit’ is a sci-fi romance advertised as ‘Red White and Royal Blue’ meets ‘Ancillary Justice’. It’s brilliantly written with adorable characters ... READ MORE
Jessica Robyn Law
Winter's Orbit
Intergalactic Politics, Mystery and Romance
Thanks to Netgalley for a digital copy in exchange for an honest review :) This is an interesting political, murder mystery (with a little bit of romance... READ MORE
Ioana Frunza-Pantiru
Winter's Orbit
Well written and absorbing character-led SF
I was sent a free copy of Winter's Orbit to consider for review. Winter's Orbit is several things. It's a well-imagined space opera, with a tense military... READ MORE
Blue Book Balloon
Winter's Orbit
An Intense Space Opera
Thank you to Orbit Books and Netgalley for the review e-copy! This was a journey for me to read! In a good way! I really enjoyed it but I would be lying i... READ MORE
catherine spearey
Winter's Orbit
Strong romance set against SF backdrop
This is a hard book to review. It's definitely a success as a romance, as SF I'm not as sure. It's based on an original story written at AO3, which is hom... READ MORE
Helen French
Winter's Orbit
Incredible
*Thank you so much to the publisher and to NetGalley for providing me with an ARC!* Okay, how do I write this review without just screaming, “READ THIS BO... READ MORE
Lorin Paterson
Winter's Orbit
A beautifully romantic Space Opera!
A beautiful, brilliantly written space opera, set in a unique world (full of interesting world-building details - from history to architecture, to technolo... READ MORE
Carolyn Percy